History of Temple Sinai

Jewish people first arrived in Middletown during the 1850’s. At that time, and until 1878, there was no formal religious organization within the Jewish community.

From 1878 through 1898, there were various attempts at organization. From 1899-1917, there again existed no formalized Jewish organizations.With 1917 came the founding of the Middletown Hebrew Association. At the same time, property in Circleville, NY was purchased for a cemetery.

The Hebrew Ladies Aid was chartered in 1923, and this later became known as “Sisterhood” in 1955. Our Hebrew School was established in 1924. One year later the first building drive was launched and shortly thereafter, a Synagogue and community center were erected on Linden Avenue in Middletown.

The first youth organizations at the center formed in 1927, including the Young Judeans. With 1937 came the Middletown Chapter of Hadassah. Temple Sinai was officially born in 1962 when the Synagogue and community center became one.

Our first Kinnus was sponsored in 1967 through our United Synagogue Youth. 1968 marked a series of important events: the groundbreaking ceremony for the new (and present) Temple Sinai Building, formation of our 50+ Club and the 50th anniversary of Temple Sinai. 1969 marked the dedication of the new Temple Sinai complex which is the building presently known as Temple Sinai.

Our Temple boasts a variety of religious, educational, social and community related services. Our strong presence in the community today is a reflection of the labors of our forebears and our present leadership. We look forward to many more years of service to the community.